JULY MADNESS - Save 50% when you enrol by 31 July 2021 with code GET50 on checkout

The Food Rating Scheme; what it is and how it works

The Food Rating Scheme; What it is and how it works

When you work within the food and catering industry you need to ensure that you have the very best food and safety practices and processes in place. The main aim of this is to ensure that your customers are protected and that the food you produce is to the highest standard, but it is also because you are going to want to ensure that you have a reputation for being a clean and hygienic place to eat.

The main way that a customer can tell how you are performing when it comes to food hygiene is with the Food Rating Scheme. But what is this scheme and how does it work?

What is the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme?

The Food Hygiene Rating Scheme is put together by the Food Standards Agency. It is run by the Government throughout England, Wales and Northern Ireland and is designed to ensure that takeaways, food shops, cafes, and restaurants all keep up high food safety and hygiene levels, ensuring that the food that we eat is safe.

The ratings are calculated using the Food Law Code of Practice and are rated from 25 (very poor) to 0 (perfect). This score is worked out across three categories, hygiene, structural and management compliance which are all marked separately before being added together to make the final score.

What is looked at during an inspection?

During an inspection, the three categories are assessed. During the hygiene assessment, it will be looked at how the food is prepared, cooked, cooled, reheated and then stored. The inspector will then look at the structure of the premises, this includes the layout, the lighting, the ventilation, the facilities, pest management and also the cleanliness too. The inspector will also look at the management of your business, including how well you manage and record food safety, including cleaning records, staff training and how well the staff then follow these rules.

How to get a 5 Star Good Hygiene Rating

There is a good chance that you are going to want to ensure that you do your best to reach the 5-star standard. In order to reach this rating, you are going to need to make sure that you focus particularly on the three assessments areas that will be looked at. Once these areas are as good as they can be, you should be one step closer to achieving that 5-star rating that you crave.

Still, want to know more about the Food Hygiene Rating Scheme? Here at The Training Terminal, we are proud to offer a variety of training courses, all designed to offer you everything that you need for your company to succeed. One of our most popular courses has to be our online “How to Get a 5 Star Rating” which is designed with businesses in mind who want to achieve a 5-star rating and then keep it.

Food Safety Courses


Leave A Comment